Male Athlete of the Month: April 2015

Name:  Andrew Csepp

Age:  24

Hometown:  Decatur, Illinois

Occupation:  Work at Nestle Purina

How long have you been a member at 1020?  About a month and a half.

Tell us about your first days walking through the doors at Ten Twenty?  The first day I walked through the door I was really excited because I felt at home almost immediately.  I felt like I was finally at the place where I needed to be to reach my goals.

What benefits/accomplishments have you seen/had since joining?  I feel like I've learned more about using proper technique and also better form with all the Olympic lifts.

What are your individual goals?  I really want to get stronger and strive for that 400lb squat and 300lb bench.  Fran is one of my favorite/hated workouts.  She's short and sweet but can kill you every time.  I really want a sub 3 minute time.

Favorite Moment at 1020 so far?  There are a lot of times at 1020 I've enjoyed so far.  I think the best are still to come but basically showing up early every day and getting that WOD done and over before anything else.

What do you enjoy about the coaching staff at 1020?  I cannot say enough about the coaching staff.  I haven't had a coach yet in any type of fitness sport showing me how to do Olympic lifts and that.  I'm really happy to finally have some people that can give me that one on one attention and I think the coaches here are the best for me.  

Words of advice for someone interested in getting started?  Words of advice:  Take it slow.  Focus on form and technique.  The rest will come with time. 

Tell us something we don't know about you?  I'm a huge Rocky fan.  I boxed for a little before my time at 1020.  I would say it was my favorite sport until I started doing CrossFit. 

Favorite WOD?  Fran is my favorite.  I also like anything with tire flips and something you wouldn't see in a typical gym.

Least Favorite WOD?  I don't know if I have a least favorite WOD, but I remember doing "the seven" and telling myself I'm never doing that again.